Robertson names Jurgen Klopp’s greatest Liverpool signing

Andy Robertson has claimed that Mohamed Salah has “got to be” Jurgen Klopp’s best signing at Liverpool.

Salah arrived at the club in the same summer as Robertson in 2017 and the two players have won every trophy available with Liverpool.

Following that summer of arrivals, Klopp’s side went on to reach three of the next five Champions League finals – winning in 2019 – along with the 2020 Premier League title.

Salah has established himself as a world-class player during his time at the club, scoring 170 goals in 275 games, and this summer he penned a new deal to extend his stay through to the summer of 2025.

There have been no shortage of major arrivals across Klopp’s years in charge at Anfield, with the first summer seeing the arrivals of Sadio Mane, Wijnaldum & Matip before the following summer saw Salah, Robertson & Oxlade-Chamberlain arrive, before the huge signing of Virgil van Dijk in January of that campaign.

Multiple signings have followed since including Alisson, Fabinho, Diogo Jota, Thiago, Ibrahima Konate and Luis Diaz, right up to this summer’s arrivals of Darwin Nunez and Carvalho – yet Salah remains the standout signing among others.

Robertson believes the forward is the player who stands out above the rest due to the goal-scoring records he set, although the full-back acknowledged the significance of the signings of Van Dijk and Alisson in that run.

Robertson explained on Pitch Side: “We’ve had good ones to be fair, we’ve had a lot of good ones,” Robertson said. “Obviously, Virgil was a big one, Alisson was a big one, but I think it’s got to be Mo with the records he’s set and stuff like that.

“I was signed the same summer as him and not as much hype was made about me than him. He had a great run and he’s not really stopped.”

Alongside winning seven trophies in five years at Liverpool, Salah has also helped himself to a number of individual awards across that timespan.

He has twice been crowned PFA Players’ Player of the Year and FWA Footballer of the Year, while also winning the Premier League Golden Boot on three separate occasions.

Source link